The Woodbury Friends’ Meeting house was built in two stages, in 1715 and 1785. The meetinghouse has served Quakers in Woodbury since its construction, and stands as a reminder of the town’s Quaker founding in 1683 by Henry Wood. For the town’s first 100 years, it existed mainly as a rural, farming community. The British, led by General Cornwallis, camped in Woodbury during the Revolutionary War and used the Meetinghouse as a barracks and a field hospital. After the war, many Quakers remained but the nature of the town slowly changed into a urban (industrial and trading) center.


124 N Broad St, Woodbury, NJ 08096